nocturne - Trio Calamus

ALM Records / ALCD-7011

1988 Digital Recording

Trio Calamus
Tetsuo Kugai flute
Masahito Tanaka bassoon
Seiko Sumi pianoforte
1. Gounod Ave Maria  
2. F.Chopin Nocturne Op.9 No.2  
3. G.Faure Sicilienne Op.78  
4. Rachmaninoff Vocalise Op.34 No.1  
5. Jolivet La Vierge et L'Enfant (from "Pastrales de Noel")  
6. Debussy Clair de lune ( from "Suite Bergamasque")  
7. Gaubert Madrigal  
8. Lenom Melodie  
9. Donizetti Nocturne ( from "Don Pasquale")  
10. Offenbach Barcarole, O Belle Nuit ( from "Contes d'Hoffmann")
11. Satie Gymnopedies No.1  
12. Donjon Rossignolet Op.8  
13. Saint-Saens Le Cygne  
14. Klose Fantaisie su des Motifs de 'La Somnambula' de Bellini
Press Quotes
The excellent Japanese group Trio Calamus has just come out with a classy little collection of atmospheric short pieces. Having exhausted much of the repertoire for flute, bassoon and piano on their debut album (Pavane ADW 7176), Nocturne features nine solo works as well as five brief trios.

Much of the material presented here is arranged from other versions (Gounods Ave Maria and the Offenbach Barcarolle from Tales of Hoffmann for trio, the Rachmaninoff Vocalise for bassoon, etc.) and all of the well-chosen selections share a languid, dreamy evening feeling. Bravo, Trio Calamus (whose name is Latin for "reed," by the way) for another well-turned recording. But when will we hear your version of the Beethoven Trio?

(The Double Reed ) U.S.A