Romantic Bassoonworks

ASTORIA / DP 87007

1. Julius Weissenborn Arioso, op.9 no.1  
2. Gaetano Donizetti Romanza 'Una furtiva lagrima'
3. Saverio Mercadente Cavatina di Donna Caritea  
4. Jules Dermersseman Introduction and Polonaise  
5. Rimsky-Korsakov The flight of the Bumble-Bee  
6. John Field Nocturne no.5  
7. Ludwig Milde Romanze  
8. Eugene Bourdeau Premier solo
9. Briccialdi Il Carnevale di Venezia, op.77  
10. Carl Almenrader Introduction and Variation  
11. Carl Jacobi Pot-pourri, op.16  
Masahito Tanaka bassoon
Seiko Sumi pianoforte
Press Quotes
"... the artist, Masahito TANAKA, is one of the best Bassoonists that I have heard. Nothing is missing: an astounding technical mastery, a sound of exceptional homogeneity, an expressivity void of vain sentimentality allow him to play brilliantly and with good taste pages that otherwise could easily slip down to vulgarity."
Edouard Mousset (HARMONIE-OPERA 12/1982) France
"... they are played so musically by this most virtuosic Japanese Bassoonists... Tanaka is such a fine musician that he can imbue the daunting pyrotechnics with a sensitivity of phrasing and balance that transcends the printed score."
Barbara Jahn(Hi-Fi News 2/1983)England
"... a highly coloured portrait of the modern Bassoon. Admire the polychromy of its brilliant technique, the stunning velocity of which it is capable... When listening to this record, one thinks that the Symphony Orchestra of the Belgian National Opera is lucky to have Masahito Tanaka as Solo Bassoon."
Michel Debrocq(Le Monde de la Musique 1984)France
These Japanese players are well attuned to the German Romantic language of all this music, ... Good tone and splendid agility from Tanaka.
J.D.W.(Fanfare 1983) U.S.A
"... like R-Korsakov's Flight of the Bumble Bee, one minute and three seconds of vertiginous velocity on the part of Masahito TANAKA. It is simply incredible.. Tanaka is an artist who knows how to make his bassoon sing, conferring it the flexibility of the human voice and reaching even the highest-C ( which is one octave from SACRE's C )."
Alice Libert(Le Derniere Heure 1984) Belgium